Rebelle meets … Oliver Phelps a.k.a George Weasley!

This summer, the Harry Potter films come to a gripping finale in the biggest film event of the year – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part Two. And so, after ten years, we say goodbye to some much love characters, including my personal favourites, the Weasley twins.

I caught up with one half of the mischievous duo, Oliver Phelps, and aked him to share 20 things we didn’t know about filming The Deathly Hallows, playing George, the battle of Hogwarts, loosing an ear, being part of the Harry Potter phenomenon and why Nana knows best when it comes to sports!

Here’s what he had to say …

“My favourite experience working on The Deathly Hallows was going to Emma Watson’s place in London with James, Dan, Rupert, Mat Lewis, Alfie Enoch, Bonnie and Evana, and reminiscing over the last ten years.

On my last ever day filming it was actually quite emotional – to see the bulldozers outside waiting out side to tear down half the studios!

My favourite scene in the final film is when Voldemort addresses all the Hogwarts students in the courtyard. 

Filming the Battle of Hogwarts was epic! There’s so much action and fighting going on. Most of the recognisable parts of the school look like they’ve been in a bombing raid.

The most difficult scene to shoot was reacting to something happening to Fred.

The best thing about playing George was you could for the most part have a laugh and smile and not look out of place.

I’m a little bit like my character because I think by playing a joking, happy-go-lucky character for most of my adolescence, some things took root: I do like a joke, but I think I know where to draw the line where as George wouldn’t. James and I were very much jokers on set … Rupert too for that matter!

What I remember most about my very first day on set is that we were filming the very last shot in the film.

 The atmosphere on a Harry Potter set is very friendly and humorous.

The coolest thing I got to do during filming was punching a stunt guy through a table in HP4!

My most embarrassing moment on set was when running in my Quidditch gear, tripping on my broom and falling over!

It’s a bit strange looking back on the  films and seeing yourself grow up on screen. The worst thing is that it’s very easy for my friends to see how much of a high voice I had!

In all the movies I always wanted a war wound, and I guess they don’t come much better than losing an ear! Spending all day with a prosthetic piece stuck to the side of my head took some getting used to but the effects team were great fun to work with.

Out of the entire cast I really loved working with Rupert Grint.

I first realised how big the Harry Potter films had become when I was in Cancun,  Mexico in 2002 and all the Americans there recognised me!

 

I’ve worked with quite a few directors during the Potter series but I really don’t have a favourite – they all had different styles and ideas, and it was great to learn from their direction. David Yates got me to try and relate what was happening to my character to something from my own life, and that made it more real. Mike Newel really got my sense on humour and let me bring it out in the character. Alfonso Cuarón got me and James to overlap sentences, which worked really well and without Chris Columbus I wouldn’t have been part of this great journey … considering we were all kids at the time, his patience was amazing! 

My biggest obsession is playing golf.

One thing you don’t know about me is I love watching sports with my Nan. She knows more about it than most of my friends!

Harry Potter fans are everywhere you turn, it’s fantastic!

I can’t wait for the premiere of The Deathly Hallows: Part 2 because it’s going to be the biggest premiere London has ever seen … and I get a new suit!”

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is released 15th July … can’t wait!!!

Leave a Reply

